Grocery Shopping in Cue
Grocery shopping in Cue is an altogether different experience. Bell’s Emporium opened in 1904 and is still operating from the same premises all these decades later.
Owned by Ross and Pixie (and previously owned by Ross’s parents), the shop has changed little over the years. There’s all the usual food supplies displayed behind the counter which runs the length of the shop, and on the opposite wall, behind the upright fridges, there’s the hardware section. Though no longer used, there’s the old cash carrier - the ropes and pulleys used for transferring money and change between the customer and the shop’s cashier are still in place. Delve deeper inside the store, and there’s a row of old tills, sitting on a shelf in the order in which they were retired from service, original posters still on the walls and suddenly the grocery store feels more like a museum. It’s truly a glimpse into Cue’s past.